April Reading Update

I’ve finished a few books since I last wrote about what I’ve been reading, and I wanted to take a few minutes to catch up my list! Unfortunately, almost none of my reading has counted for my Challies Challenge, but I’ve really enjoyed the books!

I thought that I might spend my whole spring break reading, but I actually lapsed back into some time-wasting habits and didn’t get as much reading done as I would have liked. It’s so easy to lose your routine!

Audio books have been a huge benefit when my discipline lags. I haven’t been as prolific a reader as I could have been because of my lack of discipline and need for rest, I’ve still been plugging away at a few books.

First, I listened to The Skies Belong to Us: Love and Terror in the Golden Age of Hijacking, by Brendan I. Koerner. I loved it. It tells the story of the period during the 70s when there was a plane hijacking for ransom or escape every week in the U.S. Koerner focuses on the story of Roger Holder and Cathy Kerkow, who hijacked a plane and successfully fled the country to join up with fellow communist Black Panther exiles. It’s a fascinating story on multiple levels, and I loved the unique intersection of the ideas of race, mental illness, and politics.

Next, I listened to the second Harry Potter book. I don’t think I need to justify or explain that. They’re all lovely. It’s my first time listening to them instead of reading the hard copy. I’m really enjoying the experience, and find myself catching new things.

Lastly, I just finished listening to I Will Repay, by Baroness Orczy. I purchased it when I realized that The Scarlet Pimpernel was not Orczy’s only work, and, in fact, the Pimpernel himself makes appearances in her other books! The Scarlet Pimpernel is a continuing favorite of mine from childhood to the present, so I was eager to enjoy her other works. I Will Repay is not as good as The Scarlet Pimpernel, as you would likely expect (the characters lack a little depth), but I still enjoyed it.

So what next? Well, I just started listening to Mark Twain’s Tom Sawyer, which I somehow avoided during high school and college. I also am progressing through No Little Women by Aimee Bird, which I will be discussing with a group of wonderful women. For my other book club, I’ve started Harriet Beecher Stowe: A Spiritual Life. So far, they’re all very good, and very different from each other. I also have my final paper coming up already, and I hope to read The Benedict Option, by Rod Dreher, to frame my paper.

That looks like a lot, I guess, when you write it all down. I’m telling you, it’s the audio books! Productivity to the max.

juja-han-210775

Leave a Reply

