5 Favorites

We are nearing the end of the spring semester. Finally. Working on homework and a final paper means that blogging is taking even more of a back burner than normal. So to get us by, here’s a list of some of my favorite books from childhood. I cannot for the life of me pick favorites, so assume that these are listed only according to the order in which I remembered them. Not all of them are “all-time favorites,” but they are books that I returned to time and time again throughout my late elementary and junior-high years. And sometimes even now.

  • The Scarlet Pimpernel, by Baroness Orczy. The story of the power of love, and a daring Englishman who puts everything on the line to rescue French aristos from the jaws of the guillotine.
  • Mara, Daughter of the Nile, by Eloise Jarvis McGraw. This book is unlikely to be historically accurate, but is a captivating and so exciting book about spies and intrigue (and love!) in the house of the pharaoh.
  • The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien. You all know about it already. I’m always proud to divulge that I read it because I found it in our library (no one in our family had ever read it), and fell head over heels in love with Middle Earth entirely without the help of recommendations or movies.
  • Prince Caspian, by C.S. LewisAll of the Narnia books, but this was my favorite when I was young. I may have had a small crush on Caspian.
  • Touchmark, by Mildred LawrenceI’m not sure what made me think of this book just now, but I remember it as the beginning of my enjoyment of Revolution-era history. An orphaned girl interested in a career path that was never open to women, swept into the secret revolutionary movement. It’s been years since I picked it up. I think it’s due for a re-read.

Let me know if you’ve read these, or what books might be on your list!

andrew-branch-180244.jpg

Leave a Reply

