5 Favorites

Some people are great at favorites. You ask them what their favorite book or season or food is and they can rattle off their top five like they keep a running list in their back pocket. I am not one of those people. I do have things I like, but I have a really hard time picking favorites because there are just so many ways to evaluate things. For example, when judging movies I may have a favorite of a certain genre, but how on earth can I compare it to my favorite of a different genre? Or I may have a certain favorite movie from the 90s, but how can I compare it to a movie made in 2015? It feels impossible.

So if you’re looking for ordered and ranked lists, you’re in the wrong place.

But today I thought I would share with you a list of some podcasts that I listen to fairly regularly:

  • Cultivated: A podcast about faith and work. This one is probably my actual favorite, but they haven’t had new episodes since February. I’m not sure why, but I hope they come back soon!
  • This American Life. I don’t listen to this one as much as I used to, but it remains a favorite. The hosts take about an hour to tell stories, or one story. The stories have some common theme that holds them together (a favorite of this type: Ep. 510 Fiasco!), or sometimes they’ll take a topic and take the full hour to explain it (a favorite of this type: The Giant Pool of Money).
  • Mortification of Spin. Carl Trueman (professor), Aimee Byrd (author), and Todd Pruitt (pastor), all Presbyterians I think, host this short podcast. They talk about various things related to faith and the church.
  • Pass the Mic and Truth’s Table. Podcasts created and hosted by black Christian men and women. It’s helpful to hear things from people who are different than I am. Being mostly aligned theologically while having some big cultural and experiential differences means that I can learn and benefit a lot from hearing their perspective.
  • Signposts with Russel Moore. Russel Moore is a wise man.
  • Science Friday. I almost never listen to this one, actually. But every time I do I wonder why I don’t listen more often. No matter how uninteresting the topic sounds, it’s always fascinating in real life. When I was commuting, it was always on during my drive home. I would always think about changing the station, only to end up sitting in my drive-way at home to finish listening.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do!

jonathan-velasquez-160775

 

Leave a Reply

